Eagles beat Vees for BCHL crown

Soon-to-be NHL prospect Adam Tambellini sniped the overtime winner as the Surrey Eagles vanquished the Penticton Vees.

Adam Tambellini’s goal at 2:34 of double overtime gave the Surrey Eagles a BCHL championship Sunday night.

The Eagles won 3-2 on the road, beating the Penticton Vees in game six of the best-of-seven Fred Page Cup series.

Eagles captain Brett Mulcahy opened the scoring at 1:55 of the first.

There was no more scoring until the third period, when Penticton’s Louie Nanne tied the game. Brady Shaw’s power-play tally gave the Eagles the lead again, and it looked like they would wrap things up in regulation time.

But Penticton pulled goalie Chad Katunar while Shaw was off for tripping, and John Siemer struck with 24 seconds left to send the game to OT.

Both teams had glorious chances in extra time. Eagles goalie Michael Santaguida ended his night with 44 saves while Katunar stopped 35 pucks.

Surrey’s win brings the Fred Page Cup back to the Coastal conference for the first time since 2007, when the Nanaimo Clippers were champs.

It’s the fourth BCHL title for the Surrey franchise and the first since 2005.

The Eagles now advance to the inaugural Western Canada Cup, in Nanaimo April 27 to May 5. The top two teams at that event qualify for the RBC Cup national championship in Summerside, PEI.