Polls open as Chilliwack prepares to vote

Chilliwack voters head to the polls today to choose a new Member of Parliament – and the next government of Canada – after a 37-day campaign.

The polls opened at 7 a.m. this morning and will remain open until 7 p.m. tonight.

In the Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon riding six candidates are vying for election.

In alphabetical order they are:

Clive Edwards, Western Block Party

Jamie Hoskins, Green Party

Diane Janzen, Liberal

Dorothy-Jean O’Donnell, Marxist-Leninist

Gwen O’Mahony, New Democrat

Mark Strahl, Conservative

For more information about voting and location of voting stations go to the Elections Canada website at or call 1-800-463-6868.

Watch for results from Chilliwack Fraser Canyon at www.theprogress.com as they become available tonight.