Skip to content

Chilliwack councillor Jason Lum takes helm of Fraser Valley Regional District

Sharon Gaetz thanked warmly for her leadership, with speeches recognizing her many years of dedicated service as chair.
Jason Lum

Jason Lum, city councillor with City of Chilliwack, is the new chair of the Fraser Valley Regional District after an election at Tuesday's board meeting.

Lum won out over candidate, District of Hope Mayor Wilfried Viktor, pledging to be "an open, honest and diplomatic leader."

"I believe strongly in collaboration and will work hard to apply those values to the job," Coun. Lum told the FVRD board just before the vote.

He's a second-term city councillor, and second-term director on both the FVRD and the Fraser Valley Regional Hospital District Board. Lum also spent time learning the ropes on the Lower Mainland Local Government Association and the Fraser Basin Council.

Outgoing FVRD chair Sharon Gaetz stated once nominations opened that she would "gladly and joyfully" nominate Coun. Lum.

Gaetz was elected FVRD chair for four terms starting in 2002, after first sitting as an alternate in 1999-2000.

She was thanked warmly for her leadership, with flowers and speeches, recognizing her many years of dedicated service in the role.

Lum noted Gaetz was a "fierce advocate" for the regional district who had helped the board navigate through some "difficult" times.

Harrison Hot Springs Mayor Leo Facio called outgoing chair Gaetz "a light" and said it was with "great pleasure and a little bit of sorrow" he offered his thanks on behalf of the board.

Jennifer Feinberg

About the Author: Jennifer Feinberg

I have been a Chilliwack Progress reporter for 20+ years, covering the arts, city hall, as well as Indigenous, and climate change stories.
Read more