Tatarnic named BCHL’s best bench boss

Jason Tatarnic's first year as a BCHL head coach was a good one, netting him the Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy.

Jason Tatarnic was named the BCHL’s coach of the year Monday, taking the Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy.

The Chilliwack Chiefs bench boss got the nod over Penticton Vees head coach Fred Harbinson and Nanaimo Clippers head coach Mike Vandekamp.

The Chiefs finished with the league’s second worst record last year (14-37-2-5), leading to the departure of Harvey Smyl and the hiring of Tatarnic.

He overhauled the roster in the offseason, leading to a 37-17-1-3 record and first place in the Mainland division.

Coquitlam’s Corey Mackin snagged two major awards, taking the Vern Dye Memorial Trophy as league MVP and the Brett Hull Trophy as top scorer.

Mackin’s Express teammate, Brett Supinski, won the Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy as the league’s top rookie.

Salmon Arm’s Andrew Farney was named the BCHL’s top defenceman with John Schiavo winning the Bob Fenton Trophy as most sportsmanlike player.

Penticton Vees netminder Hunter Miska’s 1.88 goals-against average earned him the BCHL’s top goaltender award. He shared the Wally Forslund trophy with his backup, Brendan Barry, as they combined for a league-low 1.92 GAA.