Sixty six BCHL skaters invited to selection camp

No Chilliwack Chiefs were on the invite list for the 2013 Canada West selection camp leading up to the World Junior A Challenge.

Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Junior Hockey League, announced Wednesday the 66 players that will attend the Canada West selection camp in preparation for the 2013 World Junior A Challenge.

The selection camp, scheduled for Oct. 26-30, will be held at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary. The players will be divided into four teams – Black, Gold, Red and White – and will play six intrasquad games, in addition to daily practices.

Players named to the selection camp roster were selected from the CJHL’s five western junior A leagues: the British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL), Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL), Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) and Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL).

The selection camp roster was chosen by Canada West head coach Jason McKee (Spruce Grove, AJHL), along with assistant coaches Trent Cassan (Yorkton, SJHL) and Ryan Smith (Selkirk, MJHL), and team manager Shawn Bullock (Hockey Canada).

No Chilliwack Chiefs were invited.

Three BCHL goaltenders are among six invitees. Victoria Grizzly Alec Dillon is joined by Prince George stopper Jesse Jenks and Powell River’s Jonah Imoo.

Thirteen BCHL blueliners are in the mix, including the Penticton defensive trio of Paul Stoykewych, Brett Beauvais and Alexandre Coulombe and the Powell River troika of Jeremy Leclerc, Luke Ripley and Jordan Burns. Victoria sends two in Rory McGuire and Mitch Meek. Other invitees are Dane Birks (Merritt), Matthew Dawson (Surrey), Viktor Dombrovsky (Langley), Adam Plant (West Kelowna) and Jared Wilson (Vernon).

Eleven BCHL forwards are among the 36 invited.

They are Mason Blacklock and Demico Hannoun (Vernon), Kurt Keats and Jarid Lukosevicius (Powell River), Seb Lloyd and David Pope (West Kelowna), Steen Cooper (Cowichan Valley), Alex Gillies (Salmon Arm), Adam Rockwood (Coquitlam), Brendan Taylor (Nanaimo) and Jeff Wright (Merritt).

Find the full roster at

The 2013 World Junior A Challenge will be held Nov. 4-10 at the Mariners Centre in Yarmouth, N.S.

Canada West will play in group B, joined by the Czech Republic and Switzerland.

Canada East, Russia and the United States will comprise group A.