Sardis Falcons recognize team leaders with year-end awards

Sardis Falcons recognize team leaders with year-end awards

Josh Janssen earned team MVP honours as the second-year squad handed out hardware.

The Sardis Falcons football team handed out awards at a banquet last weekend, with eight players taking home hardware.

Quarterback Josh Janssen was an easy choice as Most Valuable Player.

In six games the pivot completed 82 of 150 passes (54.7 per cent) for 1,300 yard and 16 touchdowns. Many of Janssen’s passes ended up in the hands of Offensive MVP D.J. Stephens. The dynamic Grade 10 receiver caught 29 balls for 543 yards and nine majors, top three totals for all AAA pass catchers in the province.

Aidan Saunders was the Defensive MVP after posting 45 tackles, one sack, three interceptions and a fumble recovery.

The Underclassman of the Year was Ben Frost.

“Ben is a Grade 10 player who started most of the year at safety for us and made huge progress on the field this year,” said Sardis coach Adam Smith.

The Linemen of the Year was Raman Khosa.

“He started both at left tackle and defensive end most of the year,” Smith said. “At tackle, he handled some of our division’s top pass rushers game in and game out.”

The Falcon Tough Award went to Blake Goward

“He never misses a snap and set the physical tone for us every day,” Smith noted.

Kurtis Flynn and Myles Joinson shared the Rick Klassen Leadership Award.

“Kurtis has been injured for almost two full seasons yet he’s never missed a practice or game,” Smith said. “He helped anywhere he was needed and almost took on a coaching role for us. Kurtis bleeds green and white and supports his team no matter how tough his situation is.

“Myles led by example was the definition of a servant leader. He never missed a day and was the first one to set up the field and the last one to leave the clubhouse to make sure it was clean and up to standards.”