Mustangs demolish Adanacs in Lawrence Halvorson Memorial final

The Chilliwack Minor Lacrosse peewee B squad took down Coquitlam 10-2 to grab gold in Salmon Arm.

Chilliwack’s peewee B lacrosse Mustangs trounced the Coquitlam Adanacs 10-2, grabbing gold at the Lawrence Halvorson Memorial tournament.

The Mustangs went 4-0 at the tourney, which was played May 27-29 in Salmon Arm.

Chilliwack bounced Delta, West Kootenay, Port Coquitlam and Coquitlam on their way to the final.

Goaltender Nicholas Traskey earned tournament MVP honours and coach Nick Kojima said the event was a great experience.

“It was a great opportunity for the team to grow, and that is exactly what they did,” he said. “By the end of the tournament, the confidence in one another and desire for the same goal was there.”

The Mustangs have a record of 12-3-2 through the first half of the season.

Team members are Austin Charlton, Brock Lamotte, Danny Ortutay, Gage O’Niell, Hayden Nerbus, Isaac Rychtowski, Jeremiah Gibbs, Josh Abel, Josh Rideout, Kyle Bonato, Layne Young, Matty Ortutay, Myles Durflinger, Natahniel Leroux, Olivia White, Ryder Wootten and Zereno Pierini.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Garage sale happening now at Atchelitz Threshermen’s Association in Chilliwack

Due to COVID-19, the event is one of the association’s only sources of income for the year

UPDATE: Traffic moving again after rollover on Highway 1 in Chilliwack

This is the second collision in four days in the same area of the highway in the ess curves

Unofficial holidays: Here’s what people are celebrating for the week of Sept. 27 to Oct. 3

World Farm Animals Day, Drink Beer Day and Virus Appreciation Day are all coming up this week

PJHL delays start of season as teams struggle to secure facilities

The junior B hockey league was hoping to start Sept. 29 but is now targeting mid-October

Missing Chilliwack woman last seen on Wednesday

Friends and family concerned for Joy-Lynn Leon, 42, who was last seen Sept. 23 on Mary Street

B.C. records 98 more COVID-19 cases, most in Lower Mainland

One new senior home outbreak, Surrey Memorial outbreak over

VIDEO: COVID won’t dampen Lower Mainland woman’s Halloween spirit

Langley’s Tanya Reid posted video offering suggestions of how trick-or-treating might look for her

PHOTOS: 2nd calf in a month confirmed among Southern Resident killer whale pod

Center for Whale Research said they will eagerly await to observe the calf to evaluate its health

2 British Columbians arrested, 3 at large in massive Alberta drug bust

Eight people are facing 33 charges in what police have dubbed Project Incumbent

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

97 distressed horses, cats and dogs seized from farm in Princeton

RCMP assisted as BC SPCA executed search warrant

Father hopes journey to aviation-safety program inspires hope

Former South Surrey resident Greg Sewell hasn’t given up on quest to mandate older-plane retrofits

Most Read