Hockley on top at Chilliwack Curling Club men’s bonspiel

Chilliwack's Dale Hockley finished first among 32 rinks at the Chilliwack Curling Club men's bonspiel.

The Chilliwack Curling Club  hosted its annual men’s bonspiel on the weekend, with 32 teams participating.

Twenty four of those teams were local, and Chilliwack’s Dale Hockley was the winner in the A event, helped by second Randy Nelson, third Glen Brennan and lead Robert Hockley.

The quartet bumped off Chilliwack’s Rick Jones in the final.

The Jones rink included his two sons, Tyler and Kevin Jones along with Bob Morrison.

The B event winner was Dan McCaughan of Chilliwack.

His team included Ryan McLean, Mike Arden and Justin Sim.

They defeated the Russ Knutson (Chilliwack) rink with Jim Hipwell, Dallas Kennedy and Gary Roberts.

Dave Senft (Chilliwack) was the winner of the C event. His team included Dwayne Clegg, Wayne Clegg and Ryan Senft, knocking off the Maple Ridge rink of Kent Laberge.

CCC now prepares to host the provincial police championships from Feb. 24-26. The winner of that bonspiel moves on to Montreal for nationals.

Dale Hockley is the defending Canadian champion, having taken the title in Prince Edward Island last year.

As the defending champ, he gets an automatic berth at nationals.


l CCC hosts its annual spring mixed bonspiel Mar. 9-11 with 32 teams participating.