Goalie Gillam named Chiefs MVP

Mitch Gillam, David Thompson and Austin Plevy were among the winners at the Chilliwack Chiefs year-end awards banquet.

Goaltender Mitch Gillam won the Chilliwack Chiefs BMO Most Valuable Player award at the team’s awards banquet, held Sunday at the Best Western.

Twelve trophies were handed out at the banquet.

The Seven Sushi Orland Kurtenbach award for top defenceman went to team captain and future Penn State Nittany Lion David Thompson.

The Elite Trophies Rookie of the Year award went to Luke Esposito.

The John Tunnicliffe Memorial Award for most improved player went to D-man Cooper Rush, and Chilliwack’s Josh Hansen snagged the Prime Signs Harmony Cup as unsung hero.

Austin Plevy took home two pieces of hardware. The Langley native got the Joey Potskin award as top scorer and the Kel Mor Fan Favourite award.

Jaret Babych won the Crunch of the Year award and Eric Roberts received the Ross Beebe Scholastic Player of the Year award.

The Bess and Cliff Brew Most Dedicated Player award went to blueliners Ben Masella and Alex Perron-Fontaine.

The Younies Family Restaurant Don Nicols Sr. Memorial Community Minded award went to Spencer Graboski and Shay Laurent.

Off the ice, the Ron Englebrecht Volunteer of the Year award went to Kelly Dyck.