Cochrane earns post-season recognition

An outstanding rookie year earned Chilliwack Chief Carter Cochrane a spot on the BCHL's all-rookie and second all-star teams.

Chilliwack Chief Carter Cochrane was recognized for an excellent season Thursday.

The BCHL released its year-end all-star and all-rookie teams. After tallying 16 goals and 47 points in 55 games, the Kamloops native was an easy choice for the all-rookie squad. He’s joined by Merritt goalie Devin Kero, Penticton D-man Alexandre Coulombe and forwards Danton Heinen (Surrey), Jarid Lukosevicius (Powell River) and Liam Blackburn (West Kelowna).

Cochrane was also named to the BCHL’s second all-star team.

The BCHL first all-star team consists of Landon Smith (forward, Salmon Arm), Brad McClure (forward, Penticton), Myles Fitzgerald (forward, Victoria), Brett Beauvais (defence, Penticton), Marc Biega (defence, Coquitlam) and Jayson Argue (goalie, Nanaimo).

The second all-star team consists of Gerry Fitzgerald (forward, Victoria), David Pope (forward, West Kelowna), Adam Rockwood (forward, Coquitlam), Christian Weidauer (defence, Prince George), Cochrane and Hunter Miska (goalie, Penticton).