Chilliwack Chiefs alum named captain of NCAA’s Denver Pioneers

Chilliwack Chiefs alum named captain of NCAA’s Denver Pioneers

Kohen Olischefski will wear the captain’s C for the men’s Div 1 hockey squad in 2020-21.

A former Chilliwack Chief is taking on a leadership role with the University of Denver men’s hockey squad.

Abbotsford product Kohen Olischefski has been named captain of the NCAA Div 1 Pioneers for the 2020-21 season.

Olischefski heads into his senior season having never worn a letter for the team, but head coach David Carle said the 22 year old is well suited to the role.

“Kohen is uniquely qualified to be the captain of our team next season,” Carle said in a news release. “He has gained the trust and respect of his teammates and coaches because of the person and player he has become. We are proud of his path and excited for him to be the leader of this team.”

Olischefski will be entering his fourth campaign with the Pioneers. Last season he collected nine goals and 20 points in 36 games. He was one of eight Denver players to appear in all 36 games.

“I am extremely honored and humbled to be named captain of the Pioneers,” Olischefski said. “This is something that I take a huge amount of pride in and I’m excited to carry on the program’s legacy and tradition. We can’t wait to get back and start working toward a national championship.”

Olischefski is a three-time member of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) Academic All-Conference Team.

A pair of BCHL grads will wear alternate A’s and form the Denver leadership team with Olischefski. Ryan Barrow spent two seasons with the Langley Rivermen while Griffin Mendel spent parts of three seasons with the Penticton Vees.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

BCHLChilliwack Chiefshockey