BCHL making playoff changes

The BCHL board of governors has arrived at a new playoff format as the junior A hockey league prepares for the 2012-13 season.

The Chilliwack Chiefs should have an easier road to the playoffs thanks to changes made at the recent BCHL AGM.

The league’s board of governors met in Richmond June 7-8, and came up with a new playoff format.

The junior A circuit will be going to three division in 2012-13.

The Chiefs will play in the Mainland division, joined by the Surrey Eagles, Langley Chiefs, Coquitlam Express and Prince George Spruce Kings.

The top four in the division will qualify for the post-season, a relatively easy task compared to last season, when only four of the eight Interior conference teams made the dance.

Once in the playoffs, the Chiefs would play best-of-five series in the first two rounds before moving on to a best-of-seven conference series.

The Mainland division champ would face the Island division champ.

The Island division consists of the Nanaimo Clippers, Victoria Grizzlies, Cowichan Valley Capitals, Alberni Valley Bulldogs and Powell River Kings.

The Interior division/conference will have a slightly different playoff road.

The Interior consists of the Penticton Vees, Vernon Vipers, Salmon Arm Silverbacks, Merritt Centennials, Westside Warriors and Trail Smoke Eaters.

Of those six, the top four will make the playoffs, playing best-of-seven series in the first and second rounds to determine the Interior champion.

The Fred Page Cup finals will be a best-of-seven.

Get info on more changes at bchl.ca.