BCHL extra: Gillam gets all-star selection

Chilliwack goaltender Mitch Gillam was named to the BCHL Interior conference second all-star team and BCHL all-rookie team.

The BCHL named its post-season all-star teams on Tuesday, with one Chilliwack Chief making the grade.

The league announced first and second all-star teams for both conferences.

The Interior conference first team was understandably littered with Penticton Vees, who took four of the six spots. Prince George forward Paul De Jersey and Vernon Vipers D-man Brett Corkey were the only outsiders among Penticton forwards Wade Murphy and Joe Benik, defenceman Mike Reilly and goaltender Michael Garteig.

The Interior conference second team had a distinct Penticton flavour as well, with four spots going to Vees.

Forwards Mario Lucia, Travis St. Denis and Connor Reilly were named along with defenceman Troy Stecher.

Merritt Centennials defenceman Reece Wilcox and Chiefs goaltender Mitch Gillam also got spots.

Gillam was honoured a second time with inclusion on the BCHL all-rookie team. Other top freshmen were Mike Reilly (Penticton), Devon Toews (Surrey Eagles), Kerfoot (Coquitlam), Lucia (Penticton) and Steven Fogarty (Penticton).

The Coastal conference first team was heavy on Coquitlam Express players, with forwards Alex Petan and Alex Kerfoot and defenceman Clinton Atkinson getting the nod. The remaining spots went to Cowichan Valley Capitals forward Devin Gannon, Powell River Kings blueliner Craig Dalrymple and Surrey Eagles netminder Andrew Hunt.

The Coastal conference second team had three Powell River players; forward Cohen Adair, defenceman Jon Jutzi and goaltender Sean Maguire. The other three spots went to Matt Brown (forward, Cowichan Valley), Tyler Morley (forward, Surrey) and Graeme McCormack (defenceman, Nanaimo Clippers).