Bantam champs make local lacrosse history

Chilliwack's bantam B lacrosse Mustangs brought home a provincial title from Burnaby last weekend.

The Chilliwack Mustangs went unbeaten through the entire regular season and playoffs before taking their first loss Friday morning.

It seemed to come at the worst possible time. Facing Juan de Fuca in the bantam B provincial opener, at Burnaby’s Bill Copeland Arena, the Mustangs suffered an 11-7 defeat.

Christel Blesch was the Chilliwack MVP.

For a team unaccustomed to facing adversity, it could have been devastating.

But these Mustangs did what championship teams do.

They took the loss in stride, got their game together and got right back on track.

On Friday afternoon they routed Delta 15-5.

Dawson Rodin was the MVP.

On Saturday morning they edged Shuswap 6-4.

Connor McCracken was the MVP.

By the time they blitzed Saanich 10-5 Saturday night, backstopped by MVP goaltender Kayl Graydon, they’d regained all of their swagger. Like a boulder rolling downhill, they weren’t going to be stopped by anyone.

And how perfect was it facing Juan de Fuca again in the finals. With a title in sight and revenge on the radar, Chilliwack played ruthless lacrosse, drubbing their overmatched opponents 10-5 to secure the 2012 bantam B provincial championship.

Davin Padgham was the MVP.

Blesch made the post-tournament all-star team and Matt Rychtowski  got the Fair Play award.

Others on the team were Timothy Hulstein, Caleb Carter, Alexander Rademakecher, Kaleb Moniz, Sean Russell, Colin Gormely, Jamie Brunt, Jake Hunter, Blake Bonnar, Nicklas Milne and Ethan Marsden-Blackface.

The coach was Brandon Mulligan.

Just Posted

Raeya Evie Duncan was the 100th baby born at Chilliwack General Hospital for the month of May. She is seen here with her parents Alysha Williams and Andrew Duncan on June 12, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
Baby boom in Chilliwack as record number of infants born at CGH in May

‘COVID babies are coming out,’ says dad of 100th baby born at Chilliwack General Hospital last month

Syringes prepared with Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination site in Long Beach, Calif., Friday, March 5, 2021. (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)
Walk-ins welcome at upcoming G.W. Secondary vaccine clinic

Second consecutive Saturday Fraser Health has scheduled a same-day clinic in a Chilliwack school

Migrating sockeye in the Fraser River August 7, 2007. (Fisheries and Oceans Canada)
First Nations, commercial, and recreational harvesters join forces to save Fraser River fish

‘We have to work together to rebuild these stocks while there is still time,’ says delegate

Vancouver courthouse. (Photo: Tom Zytaruk)
Man loses bid to appeal conviction for 1999 rape at Abbotsford music festival

James Redden, 53, formerly of Nanaimo, was found guilty in 2019 following six-day trial

Dozens of demonstrators gathered in March at the Hope Station House, showing support for preserving the 1916 building. (Photo/Christian Ward)
New reports breathe life into efforts to save the Hope Station House

The documents were presented to District of Hope Council at a meeting June 14

People watch a car burn during a riot following game 7 of the NHL Stanley Cup final in downtown Vancouver, B.C., in this June 15, 2011 photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Geoff Howe
10 years ago: Where were you during the 2011 Vancouver Stanley Cup Riots?

Smashed-in storefronts, looting, garbage can fires and overturned cars some of the damage remembered today

(Black Press Media file)
Dirty money: Canadian currency the most germ-filled in the world, survey suggests

Canadian plastic currency was found to contain 209 bacterial cultures

(pixabay file shot)
B.C. ombudsperson labels youth confinement in jail ‘unsafe,’ calls for changes

Review states a maximum of 22 hours for youth, aged 12 from to 17, to be placed in solitary

Eleonore Alamillo-Laberge, 6, reads a book in Ottawa on Monday, June 12, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Parents will need to fight ‘COVID learning slump’ over summer: B.C. literacy experts

Parents who play an active role in educating their children this summer can reverse the slump by nearly 80%, says Janet Mort

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

The border crossing on Highway 11 in Abbotsford heading south (file)
Western premiers call for clarity, timelines on international travel, reopening rules

Trudeau has called Thursday meeting, premiers say they expect to leave that meeting with a plan

The B.C. government’s vaccine booking website is busy processing second-dose appointments, with more than 76 per cent of adults having received a first dose. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
B.C.’s COVID-19 infections, hospitalizations stable for Tuesday

108 new confirmed cases, 139 in hospital, 39 in intensive care

A worker, at left, tends to a customer at a cosmetics shop amid the COVID-19 pandemic Thursday, May 20, 2021, in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez)
Half of cosmetics sold in Canada, U.S. contain toxic chemicals: study

Researchers found that 56% of foundations and eye products contain high levels of fluorine

White Rock’s Marine Drive has been converted to one-way traffic to allow more patio space for waterfront restaurants. (Peace Arch News)
Province promotes permanent pub patios in B.C. post-pandemic plan

More than 2,000 temporary expansions from COVID-19 rules

Most Read