Andy Yoon of Abbotsford receives his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine on Dec. 24, 2020. As of Feb. 22, 2021, Fraser Health had still not laid out a rollout plan to vaccinate people over 80. (Photo courtesy of Fraser Health)

Andy Yoon of Abbotsford receives his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine on Dec. 24, 2020. As of Feb. 22, 2021, Fraser Health had still not laid out a rollout plan to vaccinate people over 80. (Photo courtesy of Fraser Health)

OPINION: Daughter of 97-year-old Chilliwack man is asking when her father will get vaccinated

While 94% of those over 70 in the UK have had the COVID jab, the nonagenarian from England must wait

When will 97-year-old Edmund Beagley get his vaccine?

That was the question posed to this writer by the Chilliwack resident’s daughter.

“Is your father in a long-term care home or facility of some kind?” I asked.

“No my father lives alone in his own home,” Mary Doherty responded from her home in Dunstable, north of London, England. “With no help due to the virus. He used to have paid help once a week but that stopped early 2020.

“He had his flu jab in November at Save-On-Foods. Where will he need to register?”

Um, I thought, I should know this. Shouldn’t we know by now when and where people over the age of 80 are getting their COVID-19 vaccinations?

Quite often readers or other members of the public ask me/us questions that we have quick and easy answers for. Sometimes we don’t know the answer, but a little research lets us help them out. And in a case like this, I thought, again, I should know this. And if Ms. Doherty is asking a question about her nearly 100-year-old father in Chilliwack, I should be able to figure it out for her and for him.

If you have read this far looking for answers, I’m sorry.

But I did ask Fraser Health.

“I checked into this and our planning process for mass vaccination clinics is currently underway in alignment with Phase 2 of B.C’s COVID-19 Immunization Plan,” that from Fraser Health media spokesperson Dixon Tam. “We will have more to share about our plans in the coming weeks.”

I followed up: “I do understand that Phase 2 is set to begin in March with people over 80, but I’m hung up on the question of how do you track down all the people who live alone who are over 80? The daughter of the gentleman I’ve been communicating with says her father is 97, lives alone and no longer has paid care coming in to his home because of the pandemic. She (and he) is wondering how they will be notified?”

The response: “I checked with our team and they had no information to share with me that was finalized. I’ll let you know when I have something to share.”

Sorry Mr. Beagley, sorry Ms. Doherty, as of Feb. 22, no information to share about when you will get vaccinated.

On its website, the BC Centre for Disease Control said that “starting in mid-February, Health Authorities will reach out to seniors 80 years and older to provide information on how to pre-register for immunization appointments for phase 2 of the vaccine rollout in B.C.”

It’s Feb. 22.

Ironically, if 97-year-old Beagley lived in the country where he lived for the first 57 years of his life, he would have been vaccinated weeks ago. As of Feb. 14, 94 per cent of people over the age of 70 had received their first vaccine doses in England.

“The speedy rollout of the vaccine to all vulnerable people is seen as critical to reducing the pandemic’s death toll and relieving pressure on the NHS,” the BBC reported on Feb. 18.

“Overall, around 16.5 million people have now received a first dose in the UK. More than 573,724 of those have received a second dose. This progress means the UK continues to be among the countries with the highest vaccination rates globally.”

There is no other way to put it: The vaccine rollout program in British Columbia, in all of Canada, is taking way too long for a wealthy nation.

“It is extremely stressful for my father as I’m sure it is for so many people,” Doherty told me. “You can probably imagine how helpless and difficult it is for us his children in the UK. The vaccination program (in England) seems to be so far ahead of Canada.”

On Feb. 8, provincial public health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry said this: “People who are over age 80 in our community, in the coming days and weeks you will receive the information you need to know where your clinics will be or how you will receive vaccines.”

Again, it’s Feb. 22 and nothing.

I know it’s complicated and I know health officials are working around the clock to arrange mass vaccination clinics.

But for the most vulnerable, for people like Mr. Beagley, this hasn’t been good enough.

“Feel free to print my story,” Doherty told me when I asked if I could. “If it helps my father and others like him it’s a start.

“My dad emigrated to Canada 40 years ago for a better life now he feels forgotten.”

READ MORE: B.C.’s COVID-19 mass vaccinations expected to start in April


Do you have something to add to this story, or something else we should report on? Email:
editor@theprogress.com

@TheProgress
Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Want to support local journalism during the pandemic? Make a donation here.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Excerpts from a conversation between Bria Fisher and the fake truLOCAL job. Fisher had signed a job agreement and was prepared to start work for what she thought was truLOCAL before she learned it was a scam. (Contributed)
Harrison woman warning others after losing $3,000 in job scam

Bria Fisher was hired by what she thought was a Canadian company, only to be out thousands

A nurse prepares to vaccinate healthcare workers at a COVID-19 drive-thru immunization site in Coquitlam in this image supplied to the media by Fraser Health on March 8, 2021. (Fraser Health)
OPINION: 97-year-old Chilliwack man gets his COVID vaccination appointment

Call centre inundated with 1.7 million calls while there are just 50,000 folks over 90 in B.C.

Once again Fraser East is among the health service delivery areas with the highest rate of COVID-19 transmission in the province. (Datawrapper)
Fraser East sees third highest rate of COVID-19 cases in B.C.

The region is seeing a sustained increase in new COVID-19 cases

Once a star player with the University of the Fraser Valley women’s basketball team, Kayli Sartori is moving into a new role coaching the next generation of Cascades. (UFV photo)
Chilliwack’s Kayli Sartori goes from court to coach with UFV basketball Cascades

Sartori is taking a new path as part of the U-Sports female basketball apprentice coaching program

(The Canadian Press)
‘Worse than Sept. 11, SARS and financial crisis combined’: Tourism industry in crisis

Travel services saw the biggest drop in active businesses with 31 per cent fewer firms operating

(Black Press Media files)
Hosts charged, attendees facing COVID fines after Vancouver police bust party at condo

Police had previously received 10 complains about that condo

Minister of Families, Children and Social Development Ahmed Hussen takes part in an update on the COVID pandemic during a press conference in Ottawa on Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2020. A joint federal and B.C. government housing program announced today aims to help people living in up to 25,000 vulnerable households pay their rent. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Federal, B.C. governments announce $517-million rent aid program to help vulnerable

Benefits for those not eligible for B.C.’s Rental Assistance Program or Shelter Aid for Elderly Renters

(BC SPCA)
Is it safe to give your dog some peanut butter? Not always, BC SPCA warns

Some commercial peanut butter ingredients can be harmful to dogs

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Health Minister Adrian Dix, front, B.C. Premier John Horgan and provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry arrive for a news conference about the provincial response to the coronavirus, in Vancouver, B.C., Friday, March 6, 2020. Pandemic emergency measures have been in place for almost a year. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
B.C. officials plead for patience as 1.7 million COVID-19 calls flood in

Vaccine registration for 90-plus seniors opened Monday

A West Kootenay man died in an avalanche on March 4 while snowmobiling near Mount Payne, which is indicted by the red flag. Illustration: Google Maps
B.C. father of 3 dead after avalanche in West Kootenay

The man was snowmobiling with a group when incident occurred March 4

Surrey RCMP are investigating a “serious” collision near Cloverdale Saturday evening. (Curtis Kreklau photo)
Man dead after single vehicle collision in Surrey; speed possible factor

Police say vehicle collided with telephone pole at approximately 9:30 p.m.

Most Read