Amber Price, a downtown Chilliwack business owner, sweeps away debris she’s scraped from street cracks on Sept. 20, 2020. (Jessica Peters/ Chilliwack Progress file)

Amber Price, a downtown Chilliwack business owner, sweeps away debris she’s scraped from street cracks on Sept. 20, 2020. (Jessica Peters/ Chilliwack Progress file)

LETTER: Cleaning up downtown Chilliwack together

‘I can speak with confidence when I say that the downtown has truly never looked better’

As both a community member, and downtown business owner, I wanted to take a moment to extend my thanks to the operations team at the City of Chilliwack. Their team is efficient, responsive, well run, hardworking and friendly. Whenever they are on scene they leave our city in beautiful condition. Every time that I call them with a concern, or use the city app (download it) to report graffiti, refuse, or a maintenance issue it’s almost always taken care of within 24 hours. For a city of our size, this is no small feat.

In particular, I want to thank the staff members that service the downtown core.

Over the past several weeks I have been collaborating with a team of incredible volunteers to clean up privately owned commercial property that has fallen into a state of neglect in our Historic Downtown.

With the enforcement of Bylaw 2775 on pause during the pandemic and the beautiful new development by Algra Brothers, I felt that it was imperative that private citizens and business owners step up to ensure that neglected properties don’t continue to pull down the overall atmosphere of our downtown.

We weed, sweep, leaf blow, pick up trash, remove large refuse and make reports to the City of Chilliwack.

We’ve been making great progress on some derelict properties, and are truly brightening up and changing the feeling of our downtown. It’s a lot of fun (and COVID-19 safe), and is certainly increasing civic pride, and a sense of belonging and meaning in our downtown. Find me if you’d like to volunteer with us. Coupled with the new murals, it’s starting to look pretty sharp.

READ MORE:Volunteer cleaning crew using elbow grease to improve downtown Chilliwack

All the while, the operations team continues to do an outstanding job on the surrounding civic areas, and they have been supporting our efforts by responding quickly to our reports.

Our family’s business (The Book Man) has been downtown for 30 years, so I believe that I can speak with confidence when I say that the downtown has truly never looked better.

I’d love to invite everyone to come down and rediscover it, take some photos of the murals and peruse the shops.

I’d also love to encourage everyone to give a wave, and say thanks to any city staff member that you see tending to a garden bed, making a repair, or replacing a piece of equipment. They’re unsung heroes in our city and are deserving of our respect and gratitude.

We’re truly lucky to have such a strong team of well organized, community minded individuals serving us all.

Amber Price

• Send your letter to the editor via email to editor@theprogress.com. Please include your first and last name, address, and phone number.

• READ MORE: Chilliwack Progress Letters

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

It’s the Valley Huskers (left) and the Regina Riot (right) in the final of Football Canada’s online logo contest.
Valley Huskers face Regina Riot in final of Football Canada logo contest

Vote in the online poll to see the scarecrow named the best amateur football logo in the country

A ambulance drives past the emergency entrance of Vancouver General Hospital in Vancouver, B.C., Friday, April 9, 2021. COVID-19 cases have been on a steady increase in the province of British Columbia over the past week. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
9 Lower Mainland hospitals to postpone non-urgent surgeries as hospitalizations surge

Record number of COVID-19 patients in hospitals across B.C.

(File)
Two injured in rollover crash on Seabird Island

One treated for serious, non-life threatening injuries

Letisha Reimer, 13, was killed Nov. 1, 2016 in a stabbing at Abbotsford Senior Secondary.
UPDATED: Second-degree murder conviction stands for Abbotsford school killer

Judge finds that Gabriel Klein is criminally responsible for death of Letisha Reimer

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and United States President Joe Biden smile as they say farewell following a virtual joint statement in Ottawa, Tuesday, February 23, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Trudeau pledges to cut emissions by 40% to 45% by 2030, short of U.S. goal

Trudeau announced target during a virtual climate summit convened by U.S. President Joe Biden

MLA Shirley Bond, right, answers questions during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria, B.C., on February 19, 2019. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
Former B.C. gaming minister says she wasn’t told directly about dirty cash flowing to casinos

Shirley Bond said Thursday civil forfeiture, gang violence and gambling addiction were also major concerns in 2011

Memorial for Travis Selje on 64th Avenue in Cloverdale, west of 176th Street. (Photo: Tom Zillich)
Epilepsy-defence driver found not guilty in crash that killed Surrey teen Travis Selje

Accused testified she has no recollection of the crash and believes she had an epileptic seizure that caused the collision

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

RCMP Constable Etsell speaks to tourists leaving the area at a police roadblock on Westside Road south of Fintry, B.C., Thursday, July 23, 2009. THE CANADIAN PRESS/ Yvonne Berg
B.C. police say they take ‘exception’ to conducting roadblocks limiting travel

Asking the police to enforce roadblocks exposes officers to further risk and possible COVID-19 infections, says federation president Brian Sauve

As part of the province’s strategy to combat the opioid overdose crisis, take-home naloxone kits have been distributed throughout the province. (Courtesy of Gaëlle Nicolussi)
Vancouver Island could be at its worst point of overdose crises yet: medical health officer

Island Health issued overdose advisories for Victoria, various communities in the last two weeks

Firefighters carry equipment from the scene of Monday’s Willoughby fire. The April 19, 2021 blaze turned the Alexander Square development at the corner of 208th Street and 80th Avenue to rubble. (Rob Wilton/Special to Langley Advance Times)
Langley Fire: The aftermath of the inferno

The scene remains active as investigators work to determine a cause

BC Hydro released a survey Thursday, April 22. It found that many British Columbians are unintentionally contributing to climate change with their yard maintenance choices. (Pixabay)
Spend a lot of time doing yard work? It might be contributing to climate change

Recent BC Hydro survey finds 60% of homeowners still use gas-powered lawnmowers and yard equipment

A Mercedes SUV is covered at a gas station in the Clayton area following a deadly shooting there on Sept. 28, 2019. Carlos Monteith, the man charged in the Clayton shooting, was sentenced April 22 on charges related to a different shooting in New West in November, 2019. (File photo)
Man gets 6.5 years in prison for shooting as he awaits trial for separate Cloverdale slaying

Carlos Nathaniel Monteith sentenced for possessing a prohibited weapon and discharging a firearm with intent

Most Read