Six candidates in the race for Chilliwack school trustee

Chilliwack has six candidates running to fill one vacant seat on Chilliwack school board in the Nov. 30 byelection.

Six candidates are vying for one seat available on Chilliwack Board of Education.

At 4 p.m., last Friday, the nomination period for the Nov. 30 school trustee byelection had officially closed.

Those running include Ben Besler, Dan Coulter, Karen Jarvis, Corey Neyrinck, Harold Schmidt, and Rob Stelmaschuk.

Coulter, Jarvis and Schmidt all ran in the 2011 election for Chilliwack school board. Coulter placed 8th out of 7, Schmidt came in 9th, and Jarvis 11th of the 24 candidates who ran.

Coulter is a mature student at UFV, and vice president of the Chilliwack-Hope NDP riding. Schmidt is a retired school teacher in the Chilliwack school district. And Jarvis is a long time attendee of school board meetings, who’s also been active on the Chilliwack District Parents’ Advisory Committee.

Neyrinck is the current vice president of Chilliwack DPAC. Besler is a small business owner with an extensive political background that’s crossed both the BC Conservative Party and the BC Liberal Party. And Stelmaschuk ran in the 2011 city election.

The byelection is on Nov. 30 to replace former school trustee Louise Piper, who stepped down in August for health reasons.