Election 2014: UPDATE – Gaetz wins third term

Little change in either Chilliwack city council or school board as all but one incumbents re-elected

Sharon Gaetz celebrates with her family after winning a third term as mayor of Chilliwack on Saturday night. Below: Sam Waddington (right) is congratulated by incumbent Ken Popove and daughter Chloe Popove. Bottom: Jason Lum (centre) was reelected with 7

There will be little change in Chilliwack’s political landscape following Saturday’s municipal election.

Sharon Gaetz easily brushed aside two challengers in Saturday’s municipal election, earning her third term as Chilliwack mayor.

And all but one incumbent was re-elected to city council.

In the Chilliwack school district, meanwhile, all six incumbents seeking re-election earned their seats back.

Gaetz, who went unchallenged in 2011, secured 10,183 of the votes cast for the win.

Her closest rival came from Cameron Hull who garnered 2,731 votes.

Raymond Cauchi finished a distant third with 1,066 votes.

Gaetz will be joined by couple of new faces around the council table.

Incumbents Sue Attrill, Jason Lum, Ken Popove and Chuck Stam were all re-elected. But they’ll be joined by newcomers Sam Waddington (who garnered the most votes overall) and Chris Kloot.

Failing to win a third term was Stewart McLean.

Gaetz said it was really exciting to see council moving forward on election night.

“First of all let’s give a huge cheer for everyone who voted,” said Gaetz, in making her victory speech to family, friends and supporters.

“The biggest thing it tells me is that the community is pleased with the direction council is taking.”

She noted it was a young council coming in to take the reins, and she’s thrilled with all the possibilities presenting themselves.

“The way they spoke at the meetings gave me great hope.”

Some of the nastier developments on social media gave her pause initially, however, to think that maybe the city “wasn’t marching in the same direction” as the people.

“It’s great to see that people truly are proud of their council and showed it by voting the majority of incumbents back into office. The voters have spoken and they have elected some really fine folks to stand with us.”

She said she was sorry to see incumbent Stewart McLean fail to earn his bid for re-election.

“He was a great councillor and he worked hard on behalf of the city,” she said.

Incumbent Jason Lum was re-elected with the second highest number of councillor votes with a total of 7,842, behind newcomer Sam Waddington who earned the top spot with 8,680 votes.

Lum said it was surprising to see Waddington skyrocket to the top of the polls the way he did, but pegged him as a guy who is ready to work hard for council.

At the Chilliwack Board of Education, meanwhile, there will be one new face.

Paul McManus comfortably won a seat on the board.

He’ll be joined by all six incumbents seeking re-election: Dan Coulter, Silvia Dyck, Walt Krahn, Heather Maahs, Barry Neufeld and Martha Wiens.

Doug McKay did not run.

At the Cultus Lake Park Board, Darcy Bauer and David Renwick easily won the two seats Chilliwack voters had a say in.

Overall, the unofficial results for Chilliwack city Council were:

1 WADDINGTON, Sam 8,680

2 LUM, Jason 7,842

3 POPOVE, Ken 7,548

4 STAM, Chuck 7,132

5 ATTRILL, Sue 6,027

6 KLOOT, Chris 4,916

7 MacAHONIC, Patti 3,783

8 McLEAN, Stewart 3,631

9 HARDER, Kim 3,620

10 GOOSEN, Gerry 3,143

11 HARRINGTON, Dick 3,030

12 CURRIE, Brenda 2,621

13 KHA, Michael 2,557

14 BRUCE, Phill 2,453

15 CROSBIE, Brigida 1,133

16 MAXWELL, Phillip 912

17 WILLIAMS, Richard 619


School Board:

1 KRAHN, Walt     6,780

2 NEUFELD, Barry     6,328

3 COULTER, Dan     6,131

4 DYCK, Silvia     5,738

5 McMANUS, Paul     5,007

6 MAAHS, Heather     4,649

6 WIENS, Martha     4,540

8 HARTER, John-Henry     4,384

9 JARVIS, Karen     4,102

10 MUSSELL, Marion L.     3,772

11 BESLER, Ben     3,019

12 CONWAY, Karen     2,120

13 STELMASCHUK, Rob     1,843

Poll by poll results can be found here.

Voter turnout this year edged past the dismal results from 2011, when only 14.6 per cent of eligible voters cast ballots.

This year a 12,921 people voted (not including advanced and special polling stations) – or 20.6 per cent of the estimated 62,862 eligible voters.

Just Posted

Chilliwack native Maleek Irons scores first Canadian Football League touchdown

The former W.J. Mouat Hawks star recorded a major against Toronto on Saturday

Trial dates set for three men accused of 2017 killing near Hope

Lawyers for the accused appeared in Kelowna at B.C. Supreme Court on Monday

Heroism medal for Chilliwack woman who tried to save wheelchair-bound man stuck on rail tracks

Julie Callaghan awarded Carnegie Medal from U.S.-based foundation for ‘extraordinary heroism’

Rifle thefts from Lindell Beach break-and-enter leads to arrest downtown Chilliwack

Andrew Scott Charpentier charged with numerous offences after guns seized from Reece Avenue address

Extended hours of operation at city hall for Chilliwack taxpayers

The Finance Department at city hall will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday

Video shows fireworks shot at swan in Alberta

Alberta Fish and Wildlife is investigating the incident in Grande Prairie

Grey-haired bank robber hit with dye pack in Langley heist

Police are looking for an older man who may be stained with dye

‘Text neck’ causing bone spurs to grow from millennials’ skulls, researchers say

Technology use from early childhood causing abnormal bone growths in 41 per cent of young adults

B.C. teen killed by fallen tree on field trip remembered as hero

13-year-old Tai Caverhill was the first to spot the tree falling and warned his friends

Surrey RCMP raises Pride flag amid din of protesters

There were about 30 protesters on either side, and 20 Mounties doing crowd control

Should B.C. get rid of Daylight Saving Time?

The province wants to know, as state governments down south make the move

Air Canada reviewing how crew left sleeping passenger on parked plane

In a Facebook post, the woman said she woke up ‘all alone’ on a ‘cold dark’ aircraft

Canadians crash out of Women’s World Cup in 0-1 loss to Sweden

Canada missed a chance to tie the game on a penalty shot

New Lower Mainland bistro caters to board game fans and families

Local food and games at every table is the formula for the new business

Most Read