Council candidate: Jason Lum

City of Chilliwack: Lum, Jason – council candidate: Lum looks forward to second term

Jason Lum.

Jason Lum.

I can’t believe it’s been three years already. First and foremost I would like to thank you for the opportunity to work on your behalf as a City Councillor. There is no greater feeling than being able to work together with you, the citizens of Chilliwack, to enhance our quality of life. You and I both know that Chilliwack is one of the most beautiful places to live, work, and raise a family, and this doesn’t happen by accident.

In my first term on Council, I learned firsthand the amount of time, effort, and teamwork it takes to ensure we continue to move Chilliwack forward. I have had the privilege of listening and learning about issues important to you. Whether through emails, phone-calls, or coffee shop conversations, I pride myself on being open and accessible to all citizens of Chilliwack. I have chaired numerous committees, from transportation to public safety, and I am proud of the investments the city has made in infrastructure, services, and most importantly, people.

I am extremely excited to put my name forward again for re-election as part of your Council team. I have learned a lot in the past three years, and I look forward to bringing the experience and leadership I have gained to serve the community for another four. I am confident that the challenges we face as a community will be met by electing a Mayor and Council committed to harnessing the energy of the hardworking and passionate people of Chilliwack.

As you know, Election Day is coming up on November 15th, and I would like to respectfully ask for your vote.


Councillor Jason Lum has been a hardworking advocate on behalf of the citizens of Chilliwack. Lum’s first term saw him take an active role on several Committees, including Chairing the Transportation Advisory Committee, Chairing the Public Safety Advisory Committee, as well as acting as the Council Liaison for the Chilliwack Cultural Centre, and the Chilliwack Film Commission. He has been elected three times to the Executive of the Lower Mainland Local Government Association by his peers in Local Government. His efforts on behalf of the City have helped raise awareness around issues from homelessness to flood protection to senior levels of government. Lum is also Regional Director with the Fraser Valley Regional District, and Chair of the Flood & River Management Committee.

Prior to his election in 2011, Lum was the youngest elected president of the Chilliwack Chamber of Commerce, and a board member on a number of local charitable and non-profit organizations. Lum is also a small business owner, and a member of the Mount Cheam Rotary Club, with deep roots in the community. Recently, he was chosen as one of UFV’s “Top 40,” which recognizes 40 outstanding alumni whose ideas, passion, leadership and achievements have helped shape UFV and the communities they serve. Lum is a longtime resident of Chilliwack, and currently resides in Yarrow with his wife, Sheila.

Lum has maintained a close connection with voters from the moment he was elected, he regularly gives out his direct cell phone number (it’s on his City business cards) and has maintained a consistent presence on his website and social media via Facebook and Twitter @jasonlum, answering questions and interacting with constituents.

Councillor Lum currently represents the community as a member of the:

 Chilliwack Film Commission

 Committee to Approve Public Events (Vice Chair)

 Design Review Panel (Chair)

 Emergency Executive Committee

 Fraser Valley Regional District Board

 Fraser Valley Regional Hospital Board

 Fraser Valley Regional Treaty Advisory Committee

 Public Safety Advisory Committee (Chair)

 Rural Issues Advisory Committee (Vice Chair)

 Chair FVRD Zero Waste Working Group

 Lower Mainland Local Government Association Executive

Past Appointments:

 Transportation Advisory Committee (Chair)

 Housing Committee (Vice Chair)

 Chilliwack Cultural Centre

 Agricultural Advisory Committee (Vice Chair)

 Council Liaison Agricultural Commission