MLA-elect Kelli Paddon beat Incumbent Laurie Throness (Independent) by more than 1,300 votes as counting all but finished on Saturday afternoon. (Submitted)

‘Convincing Victory’: Throness concedes, congratulates projected Chilliwack-Kent winner Kelli Paddon

Paddon passed Throness with a 1,300 vote lead

Incumbent Chilliwack-Kent MLA offered congratulations as NDP’s Kelli Paddon has all but sealed her victory with more than 8,200 votes.

“I just called our new MLA Kelli Paddon to congratulate her on her convincing victory in Chilliwack-Kent, to wish her every success as she serves her constituents and to offer her all my assistance in the transition,” The ex-Liberal candidate tweeted late Saturday afternoon.

Live Results (Updated Saturday, 3:39 p.m.)

Kelli Paddon (NDP): 8,267

Laurie Throness (Independent, Incumbent): 6,964

Jason Lum (Independent): 5,370

Jeff Hammersmark (Green): 1,822

Eli Gagné (Libertarian): 278

RELATED: Recap: Narrow preliminary lead for the NDP in Chilliwack-Kent, mail-ins to be counted

Gap for the lead: 1,303

Total counted: 22,701

Requested mail-in ballots: 7,650

Total mail-ins counted: 7,091

Going into the Friday, Paddon led by a small margin of 195 votes over incumbent and ex-BC Liberal Throness, 5,199 to 5,004. Independent candidate Jason Lum followed with 3,842 votes.

“Just have to win about 85 per cent of the mail-ins… no problem,” joked Lum ahead of the Friday count.

Paddon thanked the volunteers who helped her campaign for their commitment and thanked her supporters as well.

Jeff Hammersmark (BC Greens) and Eli Gagné (Libertarian) round off the five candidates with 1,326 and 239 votes, respectively. More than 15,000 votes were counted by Election Day on Oct. 24.

Elections BC explains there are several different types of absentee ballots that are counted at final count, including ballots cast at district electoral offices and ballots cast outside the voter’s electoral district of residence. Results will be updated on the Elections BC website on an ongoing basis during the counting process, and at the end of each counting day. Counting is expected to continue until 6 p.m. each day until final count is complete, but counting hours may vary by district to ensure that final count is completed as soon as possible.

RELATED: B.C. Elections: 6,400 mail-in ballots received for Chilliwack-Kent so far

Results are available on the Elections BC website under the Provincial Elections tab.

Watch this story for updates.

– With files from Jessica Peters and Adam Louis

Do you have something to add to this story, or something else we should report on? Email:

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Want to support local journalism during the pandemic? Make a donation here.

BC politicsBC Votes 2020

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in you inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up